top of page

A New Years Resolution To Make A Difference


New Years is quickly approaching and I have decided to make a New Years Resolution this year. This is unusual for me, because I normally find them a waste of time. So here goes. I wish to have more fun, enjoy life and stress less this year. I also wish to do my part to make this a better world. Too often, like other's I know, I get caught up in the constant hurry up and get to it demands of the world, where everything is rushed and lets face it, at that pace, nothing is fun or truly enjoyable. If life was given to mankind to be enjoyed, then why are so many people in this world so miserable? More people than ever have to replace true happiness with stuff. They trade a perfectly good marriage, that needs a little work, for something that is newer and shinier and less work. Or to make ourselves feel better about life or ourselves, we go out and buy the newest, fastest most expensive car we can find. Everything is fast and as a society we demand it that way. From instant coffee to the instant gratification of our social media.

During the holiday season, I passed by a small coffee shop (The Dutch Brothers) on my way to finish up my Christmas shopping and the line stretched 10 cars deep for the drive-thru and 18 people long, in front of the walk up counter. I found it sad and it was at that moment, I thanked my lucky stars that I was not a coffee drinker. Personally, I don't have that kind of time to waste.

Here's an idea, slow down, be in the moment and work on the relationships that truly matter the most to you. Be kind. Be genuine. Be honest. Be courteous. Make a difference. Life is hard enough for too many people, it doesn't have to be complicated or expensive as well. The word for this year is should be simplification. Simplify your life and simplify your wants.

In the immortal words of Mother Teresa "People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway. If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway. If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway. If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway. The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway. Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway. For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway."

I plan to make a concerted effort to live, love and laugh more and try to stress less, about the little stuff, that doesn't really matter, when the day is done and the ballots are counted. How about you? Post me a message and let me know what your resolution is, and make this the best year yet!

Amazon Author Pagehttps://www.amazon.com/author/dianemerrillwigginton Book Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/AngelinasSecretBook Wix Page http://wiggintondiane.wix.com/author-blog-1 Promocave Link http://promocave.com/angelinas-secret/

Youtube link http://youtu.be/80HYscnyaVI


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page